Following a gluten-free diet can be tricky a lot of the time. It’s hard to find safe food, and cross-contamination is always a concern. However, there’s a lot to go around when it comes to candy. From chocolate to fruit and taffy, there are numerous choices. Most candy isn’t made with wheat, bread, cookies, cakes, gluten thickeners, or other glutinous ingredients, and it’s less common for confectioners and chocolatiers to add them than leave them out. For people with Celiacs and other gluten sensitivities, the candy aisle is a haven of delicious choices.
Gluten-Free Candy List
The list below contains plenty of great sweets from the top twenty-six companies that manufacture well-known candies. Organic, kosher, soft, hard, chewy, crunchy, and every other style you can imagine is available. However, this list is only a current guide. Companies often change recipes, and they can vary from region to region and county to country, so always double-check with the manufacturer before you buy.
Annies is a fantastic organic company owned by General Mills. Although this particular brand is better known for organic macaroni and cheese and gluten-containing snacks like cheese crackers, but they do have a few sugary treats. Happily, Annies Fruit Snacks are gf diet-friendly.
- Fruit Snacks
- Organic Fruit Bites
Check the current ingredient list of any Annies product on their website right here (https://www.annies.com/)
Mary Janes, a peanut butter penny candy formerly produced by The New England Confectionary Company (Necco), made the news when it went out of production. However, any treat this beloved was bound to come back. Now you can find the peanut and molasses candy distributed by Atkinson’s.
- Mary Janes
Check the current ingredient list of any Atkinson’s candy product on their website right here. (https://atkinsoncandy.com/)
Boston Fruit Slices
Boston Fruit Slices are colorful and fun. Luckily, they are also completely gluten-free. These candies have been handmade in small batches for over eighty years, and they’ve never had gluten. Everything Boston Fruit Slices makes is gf diet-friendly.
- All Fruit Slices
Check the current ingredient list of any Boston Fruit Slices candy product on their website right here. (https://www.bostonfruitslice.com/)
Dr. Schar is a gluten-free company. The goal of Dr. Schar is to help improve the lives of those with unique nutritional needs. In addition to making excellent bread, pasta, and snacks, this incredible company also makes a handful of delectable chocolate confections.
- Twin Bar
- Chocolate Hazelnut Bar
Check the current ingredient list of any Dr. Schar candy product on their website right here. (https://www.drschaer.com/us)
Enjoy Life Foods makes many different products. However, none contain gluten or dairy products, and they are free from fourteen other common allergens. This company is certified as gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.
Check the current ingredient list of any Enjoy Life candy product on their website right here. (https://enjoylifefoods.com/)
Ferrara has always made gluten-free candies. They also own Ferraro, which used to be Nestle candies. You’ll find childhood favorites like Brachs and Jawbreakers, among many other beloved sweets, on this gf list.
- Atomic Fireballs
- All Jellies and Gummies
- Bob’s Sweet Stripes
- Milk Chocolate
- Boston Baked Beans
- Brach’s Candy Corn
- Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes
- Brach’s Jelly Bean Nougats
- Brach’s Wild ‘N Fruity Gummy Worms
- Brach’s Cinnamon Disks
- Brach’s Chocolates
- *Brach’s Double Dipped Peanuts/Double Dippers (*processed in a facility that has a cross-contamination risk)
- Brach’s Lemon Drops
- Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip
- Brach’s Cinnamon Imperials
- Cherry Sours
- Tropical Chewy Lemonhead
- Jelly Beans
- Juju’s and Jujy’s
- Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
- Berry Chewy Lemonhead
- Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
- Butterfinger Bar (Except the Crisp, Giant Bars)
- Now & Later
- Red Hot’s
- Wonka Pixy Stix
- Oh, Henry!
Check the current ingredient list of any Ferrara/Ferraro candy product on their website right here. (https://www.ferrarausa.com/)
Gimbal’s Fine Candy
Gimbal’s Fine Candy is well known for its gourmet Jelly Beans. Fortunately, there’s no gluten in Gimbal’s products, so you can have them all. Sour, cinnamon, hearts, or classic, these jelly beans are an excellent gift for any Celiac sufferer.
Check the current ingredient list of any Gimbal’s candy product on their website right here. (https://www.gimbalscandy.com/)
The Hershey company is famous for its chocolate. However, most people don’t know how relatively pure and simple the beloved chocolate is. There are many safe candies from this well-loved chocolatier, made from mostly cocoa, sugar, and a few other gf ingredients.
- York Peppermint Patties (Except York Shapes, Pieces, or Minis)
- Mounds Bars
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (Except Seasonal Shaped Items or Unwrapped Minis)
- Payday Candy
- Almond Joy Candy (Except Almond Joy Pieces)
- Scharffen Berger
- Hershey’s Nuggets Chocolates
- Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate (Except Rolo’s Minis)
- Heath Bars
- Skor Toffee Bars
- Hershey Kisses Candies
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars and Aerated Milk Chocolate Bars
- Reese’s Pieces (Except Reese’s Eggs)
- Hershey’s Milk Duds
Check the current ingredient list of any Hershey’s candy product on their website right here. (https://www.hersheyland.com/home)
Impact Confections has a lot of potential options. However, it’s important to note that most of the treats made by Impact are processed in a facility that also processes gluten. The few items processed in a gluten-free facility have a * next to the name.
- Warheads Hard Candy Minis, and Hard Candy (Extreme Sour)
- Melster Sanded Marshmallow
- Hotheads WormsWarheads Twisted Taffy
- Melster Circus Peanuts
- Warheads Spray Candy, Double Drops, Dippin’ Pucker Packs, and Dippers (Super Sour)
- Melster Compound Coated Creme Drops
- Melster Compound-Coated Marshmallow
- Warheads Candy Canes, Worms, Chewy Cubes (Sour)
- Melster Chocolate-Covered Creme Drops
- Warheads Pops and Jelly Beans (Sour)
- Melster Chocolate-Covered Marshmallow
- Warheads Dippin’ Rings (Sour)
- Melster Peanut Butter Kisses
- Warheads Colossal Sours
- Melster Salt Water Taffy
Check the current ingredient list of any Impact Confections candy product on their website right here. (https://impactconfections.com/)
Jelly Belly makes a lot of tasty candies. Unfortunately, most of them have some gluten or are exposed to gluten. Luckily, the product Jelly Belly is most known for; the Jelly Belly Beans are gluten-free.
- Jelly Belly Beans
Check the current ingredient list of any Jelly Belly candy product on their website right here. (https://www.jellybelly.com/)
Just Born makes Mike and Ikes and many other delectable candies. This family-owned company has been around providing sweet treats for over ninety years. From Peeps to Hot Tamales, Just Born has your gluten-free candy needs covered.
- Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews
- Hot Tamales
- Mike and Ike Berry Blast
- Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
- Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
- Mike and Ike Mega Mix
- Mike and Ike Original Fruits
Check the current ingredient list of any Just Born candy product on their website right here. (https://www.justborn.com/)
Justin’s Nut Butters
Justin’s Nut Butters certainly isn’t nut-allergy free, but they don’t use gluten in their candies. These simple, plant-based snacks are on a mission to reach your taste buds. Moreover, you can find organic and non-organic options to suit any nut lover.
- White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Mini White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Mini Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Dark Chocolate Crispy Peanut Butter Cups
- Mini Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Dark Chocolate Almond Butter Cups
- Dark Chocolate Cashew Butter Cups
Check the current ingredient list of any Justin’s Nut Butters candy product on their website right here. (https://www.justins.com/)
The Manischewitz company is best known for its iconic kosher wine. However, this company is also America’s leading kosher foods company and offers more. The kosher candies are great for any occasion and gluten-free.
- Viennese Crunch
- Peppermint Patties
- Magic Max Cotton Candy
- Dark Chocolate Seder Plate
- Caramel Cashew Patties
- Dark Chocolate Almond Bark
- Ultimate Triple Chocolate Macaroons
- Raspberry Jell Bars
- Hazelnut Truffles
- Dark Chocolate Covered Marshmallows with Nuts
- Dark Chocolate Macaroons
- Milk Chocolate Lollycones
- Tender Coconut Patties
- Toasted Coconut Marshmallows
- White and Mini Marshmallows
- Dark Chocolate Covered Potato Chips
- Milk Chocolate Frolic Bears
- Milk Chocolate Almond Butter Cups
- Fruit Slices Gift Pack
Check the current ingredient list of any Manischewitz candy product on their website right here. (https://manischewitz.com/)
Mars/Wrigley is known for its candy bars and gum. However, this well-known and trusted company is also working hard to reduce its carbon footprint and implement environmentally safe practices. Not only can you eat most of Mars/Wrigley’s candy because it’s gluten-free, but you can feel good about supporting a company that cares.
- Big Red
- Hubba Bubba
- Wrigley’s Extra and Spearmint
- Juicy Fruit
- 5 Gum
- Milky Way
- Ethel M Chocolates
- Goodness Knows
- 3 Musketeers
- American Heritage Chocolate
Check the current ingredient list of any Mars/Wrigley candy product on their website right here. (https://www.mars.com/)
While you may not recognize the name Paskesz, you have definitely seen its candies. Paskesz is one sticky-sweet company everyone has probably tried, from fruit sours and leather to gummy bears and jelly animals. If you’re gluten-sensitive, you can have the delicious treats, taffy, and lollipops on this list.
- Mini Jelly Beans
- Ball Lollipops
- Jelly Fish
- Gummy Bears, Hearts, and Fruit Slices
- Fruit Taffy
- Sour Jelly Animals and Sour Jelly Rings
- Beanie Hearts
- Fruit Snacks Fruit Medley, Very Berry, and Wild Strawberry
- Giant Shock Pops
- Fruit Leather
- Apple, Fruit, Raspberry, and Cherry Sours
Check the current ingredient list of any Paskesz candy product on their website right here. (https://paskesz.com/)
Although the list of gluten-free candies from Pearson’s only has a single entry, it’s a good one. Bit-O-Honey lovers can rejoice. These naturally sweetened candies are safe for anyone on a gf diet. Pearson’s started during the Great Depression, so it has been around almost a hundred years, bringing little nibbles of delight to children and adults alike.
Check the current ingredient list of any Pearson’s candy product on their website right here. (https://pearsonscandy.com/)
See’s candies are a favorite for many chocolate lovers. Virtually everything See’s makes is gluten-free. The only exceptions are a few specialty items like chocolate pretzel snacks.
- Original and Xtreme Sour Smarties
- Smarties In a Pouch
- Smarties Theater Box
- Giant Smarties Pops
- Love Hearts
- Smarties Candy Money
- Mega Smarties
- Smarties Lollies and Mega Lollies
- Tropical Smarties
- Giant Smarties
Check the current ingredient list of any See’s candy product on their website right here. (https://www.sees.com/)
Sour candy lovers know The Sour Patch company well. Everyone has a favorite, whether you prefer the Xtremes or classic. If you’re not into sour, try the Swedish Fish instead. Best of all, these gummies have no gluten, so that anyone can have them.
- Swedish Fish
- Sour Patch Xtreme
- Sour Patch Watermelon
- Sour Patch Xploderz
- Sour Patch Kids
Check the current ingredient list of any candy product on the Sour Patch website right here. (https://sourpatchkids.com/)
Anyone who has ever had a Dum-Dum or circus peanut will be happy to see this name on the list. Spangler makes several iconic candies. More importantly, this family-owned company makes those treats with no gluten inside.
- Spangler Candy Canes
- Circus Peanuts
- Dum Dums
Check the current ingredient list of any Spangler candy product on their website right here. (https://www.spanglercandy.com/)
Surf Sweets is known for its gummy worms and other treats. However, this is another excellent company that is doing even more. According to its website, Surf Sweets donates a minimum of 1% of gross sales to causes that help clean the ocean, preserve open space, and provide access to healthy, delicious food. Plus, these treats are made gluten and allergy-free.
Check the current ingredient list of any Surf Sweets candy product on their website right here. (https://www.surfsweets.com/)
Sweet Candy Co.
The Sweet Candy Company has been in business since 1892. Not only does this Salt Lake City candymaker distribute internationally, but they offer lots of gluten-free options. DOTS, Sugar Babies, Carmel Apple Pops, and even Andes Mints are part of this gf-friendly collection.
- Caramel Apple Pops
- Sugar Daddy and Sugar Babies
- Tootsie Pops
- Charleston Chew
- Candy Carnival
- Junior Mints
- Dubble Bubble
- Cella’s Cherries
- Fruit Chews and Fruit Chew Pops
- Child’s Play
- Fluffy Stuff
- Cry Baby
- Mini Bites
- Tootsie Rolls
- Candy Blox
Check the current ingredient list of any Sweet Candy Company candy product on their website right here. (https://www.sweetcandy.com/)
Welch’s Fruit Snacks are made with actual fruit, but they’re still candy. This company is better known for its juice, but Welch’s makes a few juice-flavored candies. Moreover, Welch’s supports over 700 shall farms.
- Fruit Snacks
Check the current ingredient list of any Welch’s candy product on their website right here. (https://www.welchs.com/)
Yum Earth is committed to making organic candy treats. The website says, “No high fructose corn syrup, no artificial dyes, non-GMO and made with simple ingredients. Yum Earth organic treats are free from the top 8 allergens…” Every sweet made by this company is gluten-free.
Check the current ingredient list of any Yum Earth candy product on their website right here. (https://yumearth.com/)
Does Gluten-Free Candy Taste the Same
Gluten-free candy doesn’t taste different because there is no difference. It’s just candy. There are plenty of foods that need to be heavily modified for people with Celiac Disease and gluten problems. Sadly most of the time, that changes the flavor.
Luckily, in the case of candy, all the ingredients used are typically already gluten-free. Companies don’t need to change anything. It takes several extra steps to add a component containing glutin like a thickener or pieces of cookies into an existing recipe, so it’s easy to make treats for gf diets.
Whether you eat gluten-free or not, sweets like candy are one place where you’ll have no trouble finding non-gluten food. Classic favorites like Hershey bars and Swedish Fish are on the menu. No matter what your sweet tooth wants, you’ll find plenty of options to suit your palate. Although there are a few sweets you still can’t have, most candy is naturally gluten-free. Help yourself to anything on this list, and remember to check confectioners’ and chocolatiers’ websites regularly for recipe changes that might affect you.